Okay, Modern or Traditional??

Image

There seems to be some fierce friendly competition out there about which quilts are better, modern or traditional.  So let’s hear it, which do you prefer and why?  I’ll weigh in after I hear from some of you!

About thequiltshopnavigator

We are the premier directory of quilt shops in the US and Canada. Our semi-annual editions list over 3,600 shops. We verify the accuracy of each listing twice each year and are constantly adding new shops to our data base. Quite a feat, don't you think? Our mission is to bring ALL the quilt shops to quilters!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Okay, Modern or Traditional??

  1. totally depends on who you are making the quilt for. I like traditional, but if I was to make one for either of my 30-something daughters; it would have to be modern. The grandchildren get the traditional, until they are old enough to express an opinion! 🙂

  2. sowninpeace says:

    I agree … I run a prayer quilt ministry and we make what most would call modern as we go with the Spirit. It’s not about the quilt so much as the people. But I do love the stories that are behind the blocks of older quilts. I revived one traditional blk in the mail that was the women’s life testimony .

  3. Elisabeth says:

    Traditional, without any doubt. I’m out of my comfort zone when I have to work without a plan. Life is a chaos anyhow, so my quilts have to be tidy.

  4. Great perspectives! I tend to lean towards modern quilts, but there are styles of each that I like and styles of each that are not my favorite. I agree with sowninpeace that the stories behind the quilts are what make them special! I love learning the history behind the quilt. I recently learned about the underground railroad series, I had no idea! It’s a very inspiring story!

  5. I don’t know that I have enough quilting experience to have an opinion BUT I do like all quilts and agree that whoever the quilt is for makes a huge difference as to what I quilt! I also think it will change depending on the fabric used, or pattern chosen. I think my problem is I just like QUILTS – regardless of style.

Leave a Reply

